Tuesday, October 19, 2021

Lasker Awards, honoring medical professionals, coming in 2021

The Medicine & Health Professions Council of New York State, in collaboration with Columbia University, will present the 2021 Lasker Awards in Medicine on Saturday, May 25, at the Kaufman Astoria Studios. This year’s list of nominees and award recipients was announced this week. This year’s nominees include surgical nurse practitioner Alexandra Naoum, a pioneer in surgical anesthesia who successfully pioneered new

techniques and protocols for using high-frequency surgical guidance for surgeons to reduce pain and complications associated with traditional anesthesia. Alexander Styx, MD, BSc, PhD, MA, an infectious disease physician, was recently awarded the prestigious Sidney Kimmel Prize, for his pivotal work in making a safe and effective vaccine for hepatitis B. Dr. Styx also received the 2018 Deborah Mehta Award, for his

sustained pursuit of research toward better treatments for HIV and hepatitis C. The Deborah Mehta Award winner is nominated by his peers for his devotion to their well-being. Dr. Styx is currently working on developing a new vaccine for hepatitis C that will eliminate the toxic hepatitis C-infected people and make this pathogen “uninfectious.” “We are so grateful for the awards,” Dr. Styx said. “We hope that by

continuing to create innovation through research and vaccination, we can make a difference in the world for generations to come.” The Lasker Awards will be presented to the following nominees and award recipients: Severine Parkman, PhD, FRCPC, FRCPE, FACFE for her meticulous surgical work as a researcher and educator at the Mount Sinai School of Medicine, in neuro-oncology and intracranial neurosurgery and her work

to reduce neurosurgery incidences in women. The Saving Women from Neurosurgical Incidence: Severine Parkman Award Alan S. Ferber, PhD, RD for his world-renowned research in the field of heart disease, particularly the hereditary changes in cardiomyopathy that cause an increased incidence of the disease. The Alan S. Ferber Award Milton Kind, MD, FACP, FACFE, NYS The award for innovation will be presented to Nadav Ben

Gal, M.D., chief of the Division of Endocrinology and Metabolism at Montefiore Medical Center. His landmark study, Investigating Inflammation in Acute Adipose Tolerance (IABT), demonstrated that inflammation is a factor in the development of insulin resistance. The Ruth H. Siteman Distinguished Service Award Mark Vandegrift, MD, professor of medicine at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences and at the

Roswell Park Cancer Institute, Dr. Vandegrift is a pioneer in looking at the biological basis of existing therapies to determine which therapies increase their therapeutic effect. His objective is to combine what is good in drugs with other therapies to improve patient outcomes and decrease side effects. The Jeanne Lasker Award, named for Dr. Lasker, MD, who founded the awards, is awarded to an individual whose work

demonstrates visionary creativity, achievements in clinical medicine and ethics, and research excellence. The Jeanne Lasker Award is designed to honor not only the person but also to reward the collaborative process, collaboration and inclusion that characterizes the high quality of work. Each year, the awards are created in memory of the late Dr. Lasker, an internationally renowned surgeon and physician-in-chief of

Columbia University’s College of Physicians and Surgeons who helped bring research to bear on medical problems affecting all of us. During his extraordinary career, Dr. Lasker was the founder of the Acute Care Center at Columbia, who was the director of the department of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery and served as a senior attending physician for Columbia University Medical Center. He was the head of the

urology department at the Rockefeller University School of Medicine.

More articles

Latest article